well, today’s the day…the day we decide who our next president will be. rich and I just got back from voting, the first time in our marriage (even in our lives, actually) that we voted for the same presidential candidate. I sure hope our votes help.

I have always been liberal, that’s no surprise to anyone who knows me. I have, though, become more conservative over the last decade. however, this last year or so, I’ve seen my liberal roots come back. when I started going to church and really feeling the spirit move, I stepped back and looked at things a little differently. I have changed some of my opinions, mildly, but overall, I’m still the same girl at the core.

I have to say that it bothers me that christianity is so closely related to the conservative party. I try to live a christian life (I have yet to succeed, but I’ll keep trying till I die) and I don’t think that because I’m a liberal minded person that I can’t possibly know God. it feels to me that’s the message being sent by conservatives.

years ago, I decided that I wanted to know God, and I had a great minister who really helped me. he answered any question I had, and when he didn’t have the answer handy, he asked around and got back to me. I told him of my experiences with ‘christians’ and how I felt that if someone had to tell me they were christian, then I didn’t want to be around them. I still feel that you can tell more about how a person lives their life and treats others, than you can from what they say.

in my opinion (I don’t want to start a debate, but I don’t think I have enough readers to worry about that 😀 ) the conservative/republican party is trying awful hard to tell us what christians they are, but not showing us enough. I don’t want to be the christian who leaves behind a crippled spouse and children; who uses taxpayers money to make repairs to my house or fund trips for my family; who preaches abstinence and then forces my pregnant teenage daughter to marry out of some archaic belief that one mistake should be compounded by another; who starts a war because I can, not caring who will suffer for my decisions….

sorry, I’ve gone a little off track. I know that liberals make mistakes, too. but I think God is more forgiving than most of the conservatives I know. my friend’s daddy has a bumper sticker that sums it up for me:

‘Jesus was a liberal’

