chewey is missing. my big, lovable, snuggly handsome boy is lost. my heart is breaking.

chewey joined our family on father’s day weekend 12 years ago. our 3 other cats were grown, no longer playful, and we wanted a baby. he fit the bill, he was so sweet, came right to me when I followed my heart to the house with the ‘free kittens’ sign. I knew right away that he needed a daddy as much as rich needed a kitty. I took him home and he was promptly nicknamed chewey, short for chulalongkorn after the prince in ‘the king & I’ ~although most people think he’s named after the wookie on star wars.

over the last few years, he’s been venturing outside, just around the house, and mostly in the garage. he spends hours in the garage daily. and that’s how this whole mess came about.

on friday afternoon I was headed to school to pick up the babies, when just a mile from the house, I heard a soft thud. I looked in the mirror, and chewey was sitting in the road! apparently, he was on the roof of my jeep when I pulled out of the garage, and he hung on as long as he could. how could I not have seen him? I’ve asked myself this hundreds of times over the past 4 days.

I immediately pulled over and turned around, but when I got back to the spot where I had seen him, he was gone. I called and cried and pleaded for him to come to me, but I couldn’t find him.

we searched, from that point, all the way back home…over and over on friday, then again on saturday. finally, I went door to door on sunday, down the dirt road that crosses the track, which is where I lost him. 2 of the people I talked to had seen him friday afternoon; in fact one man described him as not having missed many meals. yep, that’s my handsome boy.

we’ve gone back down that road a couple of times since then, and driven and walked the area loads more. I’m comforted by the fact that we haven’t seen him in or beside the road. the animal shelter hasn’t seen him, either, so that’s hopeful.

and people keep telling me that cats can find their homes, but how long does it take a cat to walk a mile? he’s never had to find his own food, it’s always been handed to him. he doesn’t have claws. he’s a teddy bear. and we’ve had a couple of good storms. what if he’s scared somewhere?

ugh, I just want my handsome boy to come home.

