…today…my husband turns 45.  being an introvert and something of an eyeore, he’s never been much for birthdays, but the last few years have really been hard for him, because

…today…is the day we buried his daddy, my beloved father-in-law, 3 years ago.  I don’t think he’ll ever enjoy another birthday.

…today…I was called to jury duty.  I tried to get out of it, to no avail.  I will sit on this jury for a projected 2-3 days.  this may put a crimp in our plans to leave friday afternoon to visit family and friends in ohio.

…today…I was not able to make rich’s favorite birthday meal of chicken and dumplins and red velvet cake, because I spent the entire day moving from one chair to another at the lovely courthouse in the middle district of north carolina.

tomorrow will be better.  I will make sure of it.

