just for the record, I liked johnny depp way back in the day.   I watched him faithfully as tom hanson on 21 jump street in the late 80’s.  I have followed his career over the years, gleefully.  I have always loved off-beat movies (my current fave is little miss sunshine), and johnny boy has made more than his share of them:

  • what’s eating gilbert grape
  • benny & joon
  • edward scissorhands
  •  sleepy hollow
  • the corpse bride
  • charlie & the chocolate factory

but I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE captain jack sparrow!  I realize that I join a million and two other women in this fascination.

sunday afternoon, I took my youth group to see the third installment in the pirates franchise.  jessica and dixon went later in the afternoon, and then rich and I took tony to the drive-in sunday night.  so I got to see it twice in one day!  I cannot wait until it comes out on dvd; we are going to have a pirate marathon.  y’all wanna come?

