today, mama received this email:

dear aunt nan,

hi! I’m joining in the american heart association’s jump rope for heart event at my school. I will be jumping rope to help the american heart association raise money to fight heart disease and stroke. can you help me by making a donation? thanks!

the american heart association’s online fundraising website has a minimum donation amount of $25. if you want to donate less, that’s okay. you can just send the check right to me and I’ll make sure the american heart association gets it. either way is fine with me. I will just need to have the donations in time to turn in on feb 22. thank you so much.

love, her name (….’s daughter)

now, the thing is, this kid is about 10 years old, and mama has probably only ever seen her 4 or 5 times; the last being about 7 years ago. which would explain why she had to identify herself at the end of the letter by telling mama who’s kid she is. is it just me, or is it weird to send money requests to someone you don’t know?

I HATE. HATE. HATE. fundraisers. I have never liked asking people for money, even if it is for a good cause. the boys are supposed to sell popcorn every year for scouts. a percentage of what they sell goes toward their camping fees. and of course they have lame prizes; although the kids think they’re cool.

the elementary school does a big fundraiser every year, with alot of pressure put on the kids. they have a company come in with big inflatable things in the gym, for kids who sell atleast 8 items each. this really irks me for a couple of reasons:

  1. the items are not cheap, like an average of $12. so for people like us, who hate to ask others to buy things, it would cost us an arm and a leg to purchase the 8 items ourselves. in this instance, I broke down and had tony approach people at church. this was difficult for him, as well, because he’s so shy, even though he knows all of those people.
  2. there are lots of people at our school who have 2 or more children. you know how difficult it is to sell for 1 kid, let alone 2 or 3?
  3. they do the inflatable party during the school day, so the kids who didn’t sell enough-or any-have to watch the kids who did, leave; then they get to listen to how much fun it was when those kids come back to the classroom.

they appeal to the kids for these things, and I know it’s so the kids will appeal to the parents, but I just don’t think it’s right. the children suffer when the parents won’t or can’t sell things for them. and then how does that make them feel? I’ve already told you how I feel about kids learning early on that life isn’t fair, it really does bother me.

when the kids come home with some sort of fundraiser, I just order a couple of things and send them on their way. I used to give mama the opportunity to order, but now she’s got 3 grandkids in school, so I hate to ask her to contribute to the cause. I won’t ask the other grandparents, because they live 3 states away, and I don’t feel comfortable with that. all of the friends and neighbors have their own kids and grandkids asking them, so…if it hadn’t been for me hating for tony to be one of the left-out kids-and the fact that it would cost me a pretty penny to order enough on my own-I wouldn’t have taken the order form to church.

so, what does the ‘f’ stand for? no, not that word, I don’t say that word anymore, and I try not to even think it. but in honor of this post, I did think of some f-words that could be arranged to fit the feelings I have: frivolous…frightening…forceful…feeble…fissure…flinch…floozie…flush…folly…freak…frenzy…friction….frown…FUDGE…fussy…futile

