I haven’t written anything in quite a while because I’m having a motivation (or lack thereof) problem. I can’t seem to find any, no matter where I look. I’ve got stuff I can write about, I just can’t seem to bring my butt over to the computer and put fingers to the keys. oh, what the heck, as long as I’m here, I might as well go ahead and write something.

last night I – with tony’s help – staged a romantic dinner for rich. tony set the table with the red cloth (actually a Christmas tablecloth, but the tone-on-tone poinsettias aren’t too obvious) wine glasses for our soda, and lots of candles, in the hopes that the everyday blandness of the corelle dishes wouldn’t detract from the mood. I made cornish hens with crabmeat stuffing, lobster mashed potatoes, and broccoli & cauliflower.

there was a time in my life when I would never have considered having tony present for a romantic dinner. I’m not sure when that changed. he’s my ever-present companion; I can’t seem to shake him, no matter how fast I run. he’s so much fun to hang around with, and he had such a good time helping me plan this evening, that it was as much for him as for rich. he was so tickled to have a wine glass, to sit at a candle lit table, and just for him, I made chocolate fondue for dessert. that’s his favorite. so my dinner with my two valentines was a smashing success.

this morning I went to my friend penny’s house to show her how to navigate her new computer. you remember those first few days after you got online? the excitement is there, you just want to do things, but you’re not sure how…I just showed her how to set up her own email account so she won’t have to use her son’s. I showed her how to find the two most important sites, google and ebay. I’m sure the next time I talk to her, she’ll have all kinds of stories to tell me of the places she’s been.

I finally, two days ago, took down the christmas tree. I know, I’m such a slacker! since I couldn’t get rich to take the boxes out of the attic, I went to walmart and bought a couple of totes. I packed them full of the ornaments and the rest of the nativity sets from the living room. I had already packed up the ones in the foyer quite awhile ago.

I dragged teh tree out to the garage and tipped it over the side of the steps. it may be usable next year, maybe not. if we do use it, we’ll have to wrap even more lights around it, so I think it’s finished.

