this morning when I got up, it was chilly.  this time of year, it’s frequently chilly in this old house, because I keep the heat at around 69.  I can’t stand the thought of those high heat and propane bills, and I can remember being told that sweaters were invented for chilly houses.

needless to say, my children think that being made to live in a cold house is my form of child abuse, but that’s the way it goes.  we have many throws in the living room, and they get lots of use when we’re watching television.

anyway, I noticed that it seemed chillier than usual, and after about 30 minutes, I realized that I hadn’t heard the furnace kick on.  I checked the thermostat, it sat on 60*, then I woke rich up.  he checked all the stuff guys check in these situations, then at 6:20 he made the first call to the 24-hour number of the company who installed the furnace.  here’s the thing: every fall we discuss having our furnace checked before it gets cold, and every fall we just lose the thought.  so, here we are 8 winters from a new furnace and we’re having trouble.

the guy came and spent about an hour messing with it.  he fixed it temporarily, and only after I showed him our carbon monoxide detector – he made me test it in front of him – he turned the furnace on.  today he replaced the ignitor.  the bad news: the heat exchange thingie is bad.  apparently, this is the thing that releases the c.o.  the part won’t come in until the middle of next week, so, where before we lived in oblivion of the silent danger – the detector has been in it’s spot for so long, we tend to forget about it – now we’ll be thinking about it for the next little while.  I guess that’s a good thing.

the thing that struck me is that if the ignitor hadn’t gone out, the exchange thingie could have let loose it’s stealthy weapon, and we’d be none the wiser.  it seems odd that in the face of the $165 bill today, and who knows what next week’s will be…that I can thank God for this glitch.  we’re truly blessed, once again.

