tony brought his report card home tuesday. it had several N’s on it, which made me not very happy. I’m used to seeing some of them, usually in the ‘handles class time wisely’, ‘keeps still and doesn’t squirm’ (I can’t remember the exact wording for that one, but you get the drift) and so forth. this time there were a couple more, so I was a little upset. his grades, however, were good, one A and the rest B’s. being the impulsive person I am, I jumped all over him for the N’s, and didn’t praise him for the grades.

I initially told him that he couldn’t play video games until further notice. I intended to stick to that until progress reports come back. the next morning, rich and I discussed his report card, and he was very pleased with the grades. he doesn’t care as much about the conduct as I do. we have never had a report card from either one of the boys that didn’t refer to some kind of conduct issue. you just kind of get used to them, I guess. they are always fidgeting and wiggling. they’d both rather read and draw than do class work, and that always appears on the reports.

anyway, we decided that since he got such good grades, we would let him get back to his games this weekend, starting today. he has been eagerly anticipating the arrival of saturday morning, so much so that he went to bed last night at 6:00. I went up around 7 and told him he shouldn’t sleep yet, but he insisted that he was tired and didn’t want to get up.

sometime around 4:00, I heard someone moving around upstairs. when I got up at 6:00 this morning, tony came down and said he woke up in the middle of the night, and he read some books, drew some pictures, and played a little bit. he was happy to see his daddy and I get up.

under normal circumstances, I stay in bed as long as possible on saturdays, but this was rich’s week to work, so up and at ’em we were.  otherwise, I think my munchkin would have made the living room his hovel as soon as he awoke.  most weekend mornings he’s up watching cartoons or playing video games when I get up.

I have a feeling he learned a lesson, and won’t be quite so quick to hit the hay in the early evening.  then again, he probably had fun being the only one awake.

