thanks to dearest helen, I will now commence to tell you 5 things that you most likely do not know about me…

  1. I don’t drink anymore.  not for any moral or religious reasons, more for past experience. I grew up around drunks, and learned from their examples.  during the period in which I dated one particular boyfriend, I drank to impress him and his friends.  I would also have a wine cooler (I don’t like the taste of beer or wine- I never wanted to taste the alcohol, only feel it) or 2 when I would go listen to rich and his friends play music on the weekends at various bars and clubs.  I never drank very heavily,  it sometimes only took a couple to produce a hangover,  and that was more than I wanted to mess with.  if I’m not mistaken (and goodness knows that’s entirely possible) I haven’t had a sip (aside from 1 or 2 wine coolers the night of my beloved father-in-law’s burial) in about 10 years.
  2. I have lots of acquaintances, but very few people I would call my friends.  I have always marveled at the way jess calls every person *slight exaggeration ahead* she passes in the hallway her friend.  I consider a friend to be someone I can tell my innermost thoughts and fears to, someone I can call at 3:00 a.m. if I need someone to come get me from a mexican prison.  hmm..when you look at it in that light, maybe it’s not all that surprising I have more acquaintances than friends…
  3. I am somewhat of an anti-feminist.  I identify more with june cleaver than with gloria steinem.  I think there were many good things to come out of the feminist movement: the right to vote, the right to choose, and the right to wear blue jeans.  but I like being a stay-at-home mama and taking care of my family and my man.  I like having doors opened for me.
  4. I met rich when I was 17.  he was the drummer in my aunt and uncle’s band.  I was walking on the wild side then, and he has always been a nice boy, so my aunt warned me to stay away from him.  she was afraid I would scare him off.  I soon forgot about him.  the next time we met, was as a result of a blind date 10 years later.  my cousin’s husband was the drummer for rich’s band and he set us up for a new year’s eve dance.  I had never been on a blind date before and my daddy talked me into it.  I met him a week early, on Christmas Eve, when he came to spend the evening with us at another aunt’s house.   during the course of conversation, we realized that we had met years earlier.   I knew that night that we would soon be married, even though I wasn’t in love yet.  it took me a little longer to convince him of it.
  5. I love to rock.  mama tells me that when I was little, I used to rock in my crib so much that I had a bald spot on the back of my head.  to this day, I will occasionally get one curly hair poking out of that area.  I have a habit of rocking a chair slap out.  my parents quit buying them for a few years, and even went so far as to forbid me to sit in daddy’s chair for awhile.  I can’t help it they aren’t made for heavy use…I just find it difficult to be still.  if I can’t rock, I wiggle.  the biggest reason we have a soft-sided water bed is because rich used to complain I would make him sea sick by rocking the bed so much at night.  right now, sitting here in front of the computer, I am rocking this office chair, which will probably result in some loose bolts somewhere…
