Sometimes I won’t watch a movie, just because it doesn’t appeal to me. Even if I don’t really know anything about it, I make the decision to not watch it. This results in some really good missed movies, I’m sure.

Jessica gets frustrated with me, she feels I’m judging a movie before I give it a chance. One such film is Crash; I had absolutely NO desire to watch it. Courtney rented it and brought it over, and she and Jessica forced me to watch it.

I must say that I was very wrong about this movie. It had way too much cursing, and was really intense. (In fact, I just watched it again, with Rich, and it was too irritating for him.) I thought it was thought provoking and profound. It’s full of prejudice, and the assumptions that come with prejudice; in one scene, a cop describes his partner’s ethnicity as Mexican, she then informs him that her daddy was Puerto Rican and her mama was from El Salvador, “neither one of which is in Mexico.” A Persian family is labeled Rag Head. It is an enlightening movie, for sure, calling us out on our notions of what typifies the different races; and no one is exempt.

The way all the characters’ lives crossed paths, throughout the movie, fascinates me. It’s that whole 6 degrees of separation thing…

Anyway, if you can get past the language – it’s pretty strong, just for shock value, I reckon, as I can’t see any pertinence to the story line – this is one good movie, no wonder it grabbed so many awards.

