Tony & I were at Walmart the other day, and one of the guys I used to chat with when I worked there, came up to talk to me.  He says, “Hello, ma’am.  What have you got in the buggy?”  Then he turned to Tony, and asked, “Son, is your mama stealing something?”

Tony gets this real scared expression, and says meekly, “no, sir…”

I put my arm around him and told him that Q was joking, nothing to worry about.  I shot Q a dirty look, told him good-bye and continued on our merry way.

Later, on the other side of the store, Tony asked me, “mama, if you got under arrest for stealing, would I have to go to jail, too?”  I was so angry, and sad for his fear.  I told him that no, he wouldn’t go to jail, someone would call nana or daddy to come get him; but we didn’t ever have to worry about that happening, because I wouldn’t be stealing anything.

I realize that Q was just kidding around, something that he & I had done quite a bit of in the past, so I calmed down, but that fact that my baby was worried still bothers me.

