I have never been much of a fan of Kevin Costner, but I have watched a couple of his movies in the last couple of days that I liked.

First was “Rumor Has It” with Jennifer Aniston.  It was really good, but I love Jennifer, so I reckon I’m biased.  Kevin was great in this movie, and I liked him, which surprised me.  I liked it so much that as soon as it was over, I hopped online and bought my own copy.

Then I checked “Message in a Bottle” out of the library.  I really liked this movie, too, up until the very end, which STINKS.  I was really prepared for a happy ending, I mean all signs pointed in that direction.  But, no, sad was all I got.

I don’t care for sad movies, in general.  I have enjoyed a crier or two, in my time, but it’s not what I prefer.  I like funny, happy endings.  I don’t care that it may not be realistic, that’s fine with me.

I listened to a conversation a few decades years ago, between a couple of friends of mine.  They were debating the merits of Roseanne and Herman’s Head.

Sandy really enjoyed Roseanne, she liked that it was so realistic and life-like.  Joanne preferred Herman’s Head, because it was more imaginative.  She said she had enough realism at home, and didn’t need to watch more of it.

I was reminded of that conversation today, when this movie ended.  I was thinking to myself that I really don’t like sad endings, I don’t want to see people running away, getting sick, or dying.  I know those things happen, but I don’t need to see movies about it.

Now, there’s way more reality on television than there was in the day of Roseanne and Herman.  And, I do watch a few realistic shows.  I love CSI, Criminal Minds, The Closer, etc. 

And in all honesty, I don’t know anyone personally who lives like the people in those reality shows.  Maybe I just don’t hang with the right people.  On the other hand, do I really want to know the Gotti’s, the Osborne’s (although I used to listen to alot of Ozzie’s music), or Paris and Nicole?  I think not. 

I guess I’m happy and satisfied enough with my own reality here in the Triad, I don’t think I want much more.  I’m just praying for a happy ending.

