So, in our bible study class this morning, we got into a discussion over bible translations.  I related this story:

Shortly after we moved here from Ohio, a co-worker of Rich’s invited us to go to church with this family, and then to lunch afterwards.  I had never been to a Southern Baptist church, but, hey, we all believe the same thing, right?

Well, I have to say (and I know that this post will probably offend someone; for that I am very sorry) that it was very uncomfortable for me.

The preacher was a hellfire and brimstone kinda guy.  He screamed and whispered, and told us that Jesus went to hell when he died…this really bothered me.  I had never heard this before.  Then he proceeded to inform me (I reckon it was for the benefit of all, but felt aimed at me) that the King James Version is the ONLY true bible, and the only one sanctioned by God for use in our lives.

Let me tell you, when I left there, they let me know that I was so close to hell (me and my poor little NIV), that I could feel the fire on my butt.

Since then, I have had several discussions with various persons about the correct bible.  I have thankfully found more people feel the way I do, that it’s a matter of personal preference, not a divine directive.  If it’s easy for me to read and understand, I’m going to get more out of it.  KJV is not easy for me to read.  It was not written for me, but for King James, who lived in the timeframe when Ye Olde English was the norm.

My favorite verse is Philippians 4:13.  I compared 4 different bibles this morning, and the verse says the same thing in all of them, just worded a little differently.

So, to get to the point (finally, you say), from what I understand, the belief that the KJV is the ONLY bible, is because all the other translations are just that: translations.  But, if I’m not mistaken, wasn’t the original bible written in Hebrew?  Then added to and translated into Greek?  But, the King James Version is neither of these languages, so how is it any different than any of the other translations?  Except that it was the first second translation, not the umpteenth like what we use today.

So, since my bible tells me that Jesus is my savior, I think I’ll stick with it.  I hope I haven’t offended you and your bible, but this is the way I feel.

