Okay, so I have decided that in further posts, I will just name my peeps, rather than use initials, mainly because I get confused.  Now on to other matters:

I was reading Parade, the magazine that comes in the Sunday paper around here, (I assume everywhere) and what I read interests me.  First, you need to know that I don’t really follow politics or alot of hot topics, such as global warming.  I know that doesn’t do much for my reputation, but I think I’ve got enough stuff to worry about here in my own little world, without getting all pissed off about the state of the nation and other crap.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I stay informed, mainly by my husband (whose political views swing the opposite direction) and from my mother (from whom I inherited my liberal ideas) and my friends, whose opinions I enjoy hearing.

Anyway, according to the Parade:

  • Every year since 1997 has been in the Top 10 list of hottest years, and 2005 set a new record.
  • A recent Duke study found that increased carbon dioxide has led to out-of-control growth of poison ivy, and increased levels of pollen.
  • Within the next 15 years, Mt. Kilimanjaro may be ice-free, after atleast 11,700 years of being covered.

 I don’t know how much this will affect my family in our lifetime, but I know that it doesn’t seem like that many years ago we first started hearing about global warming, and now the warnings are becoming harsher.  Maybe I’ll step up my recycling efforts another notch.  This is as good a time as any, I reckon.

