So, I'm reading Uncle John's Third Bathroom Reader a little bit ago…Have you ever read any of this series?  They are full of trivia.  Mama had a collection of them, which she passed on to me.  I keep them all over the house, because they're great for a little light reading.  Every page has something different on it.  They're great to take on road trips, too.  Every time we go to Ohio, or to the beach (which is much more preferable to Ohio, believe me!), I read them to the hubby as he drives. 

Anyway, one of the sections I just read listed some banned books.  I was surprised at some of them:

The Diary of Anne Frank.  The Alabama State Textbook Committee rejected it as "a real downer" in 1983.

A Light in the Atticby Shel Silverstein.  I LOVE THIS BOOK!!  In 1986, a Wisconsin elementary school banned it because it "glorified Satan, suicide and cannibalism, and also encouraged children to be disobedient."

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Caroll.  In 1931, authorities in China objected that "animals should not use human language, and that it was disastrous to put animals and human beings on the same level."

Maybe y'all won't find this as amusing as I did, but I hope it's at-least interesting.

